I had a major migraine attack yesterday.. I have had headaches, pretty much have one every day, but yesterday it turned into a migraine from hell! My sweet daughter came over to take me to the hospital. I hate having her see me in that much pain. We went to the emergency room. It wasn’t very packed but it was the most unorganized e.r. I have ever seen! They have you waiting in the lobby with a very loud TV blaring, loud people and kids running around screaming . People need to control their kids better, but that’s another post. Then they SCREAM your full name (in a small lobby) and take you to a room to ask you 435,654 questions. Well if you ever had a migraine you know that you can’t remember shit! Well at least that’s how it is for me! They poke you , prod you, take your blood pressure. Then (I guess I’m starting to look old), they ask you if you still have periods or have had a histerectomy (sp?). Do I really look that ancient???? Then they send you back to the noisy hell , I mean, lobby where you wait some more. Oh you think that was fun?! Now they call your name over the loud speaker where they ask if you have insurance and money to pay for today’s visit. No, sorry I don’t Ms. Billing lady. I am what they call..”broke”. I am on disability and barely make enough to eat but Oz… I mean Obama has mandated that I have health insurance. So I don’t qualify for Medi-cal and “obamacare” costs way to much for me to be able to pay rent AND health care. So I chose rent, cause I don’t want to sleep in my car so I can afford health insurance. So after I am made to feel like the scum of the earth cause I’m broke, they send me back to the lobby. 
Oh fun! More screaming kids and more people! I’m in tears at this point from the pain. The light is bothering me, the noise is making my head throb and I want to barf. 

Finally I see a doctor who asks me the same 456,324 questions and then asks me to list all the meds my neurologist has tried on me to help prevent migraines….are you f:;(&ing kidding me?! It was so long ago, we tried like 10 different meds and oh yea I have A MIGRAINE AND I CANT REMEMBER MY NAME RIGHT NOW MR. Doctor! Plus it’s not like he’s gonna give me a prescription for something anyway cause I DONT HAVE INSURANCE … So after that fun experience, guess where he sent me!? Yep, the good ol’ lobby. 

About 20 more minutes or so a nurse calls me back..  Oh hallelujah!!!!! So I go back to this tiny room and more questions are asked and even though my issue is on the computer in front of her she asks what brings me to the er! Migraine… I’m in a lot of pain… So she goes to get my shot and 2 pills…. 15 minutes later she comes back, FINALLLLYY!!!! So she gives me the shot and 2 pills and sends me back to the lobby……. They want me to wait for my urine test results. But the previous dr said they had to check my urine to make sure they can give me the shot?!? Ok, whatever… So we sit in the lobby for over an hour or so when they finally call me back to discharge me. 

We were there for around 5 hours and I probably will never go back there. Even though the wait wasn’t as bad as other ers, I can’t stand the disorganization and making me feel like I’m scum because I don’t have insurance. 

…end rant…. Lol 🙂

